Dryers & dry boxes · Comparison

eSUN eBOX Lite vs SUNLU FilaDryer S2

eSUN eBOX Lite and SUNLU FilaDryer S2 compared on maker data. Pick eSUN to keep dry filament warm while printing, SUNLU to set a drying temperature.

Illustration of an orange filament spool inside a clear-lidded filament dryer with a small control display
On this page (13 sections)
The short answer

Pick the eSUN eBOX Lite if your filament is already dry and you want to keep one spool warm and covered while it prints. Pick the SUNLU FilaDryer S2 if you want to set a drying temperature, see humidity, and check your spool against a published size. Both are single-spool heated boxes for spools up to 1 kg that you can print from. eSUN describes the eBOX Lite as a storage box that keeps filament at a constant temperature and humidity while it prints, and says it "is not suitable for drying filaments with serious water absorption and high temperature (such as nylon, PEEK and other filaments that need high temperature drying)." eSUN's product page gives no temperature, power, timer, or maximum spool size. SUNLU documents the S2 as a dryer with a set temperature from 35 to 70 °C, a humidity readout, and a maximum spool size, and says you can print while it dries.

Who this comparison is for

This page is for anyone choosing between these two specific products: the eSUN eBOX Lite with a US power supply, and the SUNLU FilaDryer S2 in Black. Both hold one spool, so the questions are what you need the box to do, whether that's drying wet filament or keeping dry filament dry while it prints, and how much published detail you want before you buy. If you're still deciding whether you need an active dryer or just a sealed box, start with our filament dryer vs dry box guide. For more dryers, including ones that run hotter than 70 °C, see the filament dryer shortlist. We've also compared the EIBOS Easdry with the eSUN eBOX Lite.

ProductBest forSkip ifLink
eSUN eBOX Lite (US listing (eSUN's page names no plug or power-supply version))Keeping an already-dry 1 kg spool of PLA or PETG warm and dry while it prints.You need to recover wet nylon or other filaments that require high-temperature drying.View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)
SUNLU FilaDryer S2 (Black, single-spool dryer)Drying and feeding one standard 1 kg spool of PLA, PETG, or TPU at a time.You need to dry several spools at once or need temperatures above 70 °C.View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)

How we compared them

This is a research-based comparison. Every figure below comes from the makers' own product pages, wiki, and blog, listed in the sources, plus Bambu Lab's and Prusa's published drying tables for the materials. We haven't tested either box, so nothing here is a measured result of ours. Where a maker describes its own product, such as "more uniform heat," we label it as the maker's claim.

The two makers don't publish the same kinds of numbers. SUNLU gives a temperature range, power, and maximum spool size. eSUN's product page gives none of those, so for most rows below there's nothing to set side by side. Where eSUN doesn't state a figure, we say so rather than fill the gap from retailer listings.

Side-by-side specs

eSUN eBOX LiteSUNLU FilaDryer S2
VariantUS power supply (eBox-Lite-US)Black, single-spool dryer
What the maker calls it"A cost-effective storage filament dryer with constant temperature and humidity" (product page)"designed as a drying and storage box for 3D printer filaments" (product page)
Heat controlNot stated on eSUN's product pageSet temperature, 35–70 °C (wiki)
Highest heat the maker statesNot stated70 °C maximum (product page and wiki)
HeatingArc-shaped PI heating sheet with a heat-conduction metal plate and a turbo fan (product page)Upper and lower heating plates with a bottom fan (product page)
Maximum working powerNot stated48 W (product page and wiki)
Power adapterNot statedDC 24 V ±1.2 V, 2 A output (wiki)
Spool capacity0.5 kg and 1 kg spools; maximum dimensions not stated (product page)One spool, maximum φ210 × 85 mm (wiki); "one standard 1 kg spool" (SUNLU blog)
Dimensions238 × 104 × 215 mm, axes not labelled (product page)265 × 274 × 118 mm, L × W × H (product page and wiki)
Weight1115 g (product page)1109 g net (product page)
Filament diameters1.75, 2.85, 3.0 mm (product page)1.75, 2.85, 3.00 mm (store page)
Humidity displayNot described; eSUN's FAQ mentions a screen and buttons but not what the screen showsHumidity shown on the dryer's screen (product page)
TimerNot statedCountdown shown on the screen; range not stated on SUNLU's pages
Feeding while printingKeeps "constant temperature and humidity during printing" (product page FAQ)"Allows you to print while drying" (store page)
LidTransparent PC upper cover (product page)Not described as transparent
Materials the maker listsNo list; "not suitable" for nylon, PEEK, and other filaments that need high-temperature drying (product page FAQ)PLA, PLA+, PETG, TPU, ABS, PA, and PC (store page)
Working environmentNot stated20–35 °C, up to 90% RH (wiki)

Drying or keeping dry: what each maker says it's for

This is the main difference, and it comes from the makers themselves.

  • eSUN eBOX Lite. eSUN calls it a "storage filament dryer" with a "heating function," and says the transparent cover lets you watch how much filament is left. Its product page FAQ answers the question "Why is the drying effect not very noticeable?" directly: "eBOX Lite only has the function of maintaining constant temperature and humidity during printing. It is not suitable for drying filaments with serious water absorption and high temperature (such as nylon, PEEK and other filaments that need high temperature drying)." Its feature list does mention "stable drying performance," but the FAQ makes clear that eSUN positions it as a heated box for filament that's already dry, not as a way to recover a badly wet spool.
  • SUNLU FilaDryer S2. SUNLU calls it a drying and storage box with a 70 °C maximum. Its product page says it is "suitable for specialty filaments such as PA and PC." SUNLU's own comparison blog is more cautious, listing "Not suitable for high-temp engineering filaments" as a con of the S2 and pointing readers who print nylon and PC to its 110 °C E2.

So both makers steer you away from these boxes for nylon at some point, eSUN plainly and SUNLU in its blog.

Temperature: published or not

SUNLU lets you set a temperature between 35 and 70 °C. Its product page says the screen shows temperature, time, humidity, filament type, and a countdown, and the store page says it has one-key recommended temperature settings for different filaments.

eSUN's product page doesn't give a temperature for the eBOX Lite, either a range or a maximum. It describes the heating parts, a PI arc-shaped heating sheet and a metal plate that it says "produce more uniform heat," and a turbo fan for an internal heat cycle, but no figures. Without a published temperature, you can't check the eBOX Lite against a filament maker's drying table. If your filament's instructions give a drying temperature, only the S2 lets you confirm you're meeting it.

Spool fit and capacity

  • eSUN eBOX Lite. eSUN says it holds 0.5 kg and 1 kg spools, but its product page gives no maximum spool diameter or width.
  • SUNLU FilaDryer S2. SUNLU's wiki gives a maximum of φ210 × 85 mm, and its blog says it holds "one standard 1 kg spool."

Spool sizes vary by brand, so measure yours. With the S2 you can check against a published limit. With the eBOX Lite, eSUN gives only spool weights, so "holds a 1 kg spool" doesn't tell you whether a particular wide 1 kg spool will fit.

Feeding the printer

Both are meant to feed a printer while the spool sits inside. SUNLU's store page says the S2 "Allows you to print while drying," and that its feed-out coil "allows the filament to continue to dry in the dryer as it's being fed to the printer." eSUN describes the eBOX Lite as keeping filament at constant temperature and humidity "during printing," which is its main job by eSUN's own account. Neither maker publishes how the filament outlet is sealed or what tube size it takes on the pages we checked.

Which materials each maker says it can dry

Here is how the filament makers' own drying temperatures compare with the S2's 70 °C maximum. eSUN publishes no temperature for the eBOX Lite, so it can't be placed in this table. Use eSUN's own guidance instead, which rules out nylon, PEEK, and other filaments that need high-temperature drying.

MaterialBambu Lab, forced-air ovenPrusa, PrusamentWithin the S2's 70 °C?
PLA50 °C for 8 h (PLA Basic / Matte)45 °C for 6 hYes
PETG60–65 °C for 8 h55 °C for 6 hYes
TPU70 °C for 8 h60 °C for 4–6 hAt the limit for Bambu's figure
ABS / ASA75–85 °C for 8 hASA 80 °C for 4 hNo
PC75–85 °C for 8 hPC Blend 85 °C for 5 hNo
PA (nylon)PA6-CF/GF, PAHT-CF/GF: 75–85 °C for 8–12 hPA11 Carbon Fiber 90 °C for 6 hNo

Bambu also warns that PA-based filaments left in open air for about three months become "very difficult to dry" even in a convection oven at 80–90 °C. So although SUNLU's product page lists PA and PC, the S2 doesn't reach the temperature these makers give for them. Follow the drying guidance for your exact spool. If it calls for more than 70 °C, use a dryer documented to reach it, and if you have only the eBOX Lite, eSUN's own FAQ says it isn't the tool for that job.

Spool temperature limits

A box's heat is only useful if the spool can take it. Bambu Lab warns that "Some third-party spools may not be heat-resistant enough and could deform during drying." Prusa says older black Prusament spools are only safe to about 45 °C unless you add a screw to hold them together, while the black spools it introduced from October 2025 are rated to 90 °C. Neither eSUN nor SUNLU publishes a spool temperature rating, so check your spool before you run the S2 near its 70 °C top setting. With the eBOX Lite you can't compare its heat with a spool rating, because eSUN doesn't state its temperature.

Power and footprint

SUNLU lists a 48 W maximum working power, a 0.05 W standby power, and a 24 V DC adapter. eSUN's product page gives no power figure for the eBOX Lite. The two weigh almost the same, 1115 g for the eBOX Lite and 1109 g for the S2. Their shapes differ. The S2 is wide and low, 265 × 274 × 118 mm. eSUN lists the eBOX Lite as 238 × 104 × 215 mm without labelling the axes, so check the product photos before planning desk space.

eSUN

eSUN eBOX Lite (US listing (eSUN's page names no plug or power-supply version))

Best for
Keeping an already-dry 1 kg spool of PLA or PETG warm and dry while it prints.
Skip this if
You need to recover wet nylon or other filaments that require high-temperature drying.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
Capacity
0.5 kg and 1 kg spools (eSUN). Maximum spool dimensions are not stated on eSUN's product page.
Maker notes
eSUN lists size 238×104×215 mm (axes not labelled) and weight 1115 g. Filament diameters 1.75 / 2.85 / 3.0 mm (eSUN). Transparent PC upper cover, arc-shaped heating sheet with a heat-conduction metal plate, and a low-noise turbo fan (eSUN). The Amazon listing gives a 40–55 °C inside temperature range and a 200 × 73 mm maximum spool; eSUN's product page does not state these, so they are not recorded as specifications.
Strengths
  • Manufacturer states it holds 0.5 kg and 1 kg spools at constant temperature and humidity while printing.
  • Manufacturer states the transparent PC cover lets you watch the spool.
  • Manufacturer lists a compact 1115 g unit.
Limitations
  • eSUN states it 'is not suitable for drying filaments with serious water absorption and high temperature (such as nylon, PEEK and other filaments that need high temperature drying).'
  • eSUN's product page does not state a maximum temperature or maximum spool dimensions.
View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)Details checked 2026-10-06 against the manufacturer. Price and availability are on Amazon.
SUNLU

SUNLU FilaDryer S2 (Black, single-spool dryer)

Best for
Drying and feeding one standard 1 kg spool of PLA, PETG, or TPU at a time.
Skip this if
You need to dry several spools at once or need temperatures above 70 °C.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
Capacity
One spool up to 210 mm diameter × 85 mm wide (SUNLU wiki: max capacity φ210×85(H) mm; SUNLU comparison: one standard 1 kg spool)
Outer size
265 × 274 × 118 mm
Part rated to
70 °C (your printer's own hotend limit may be lower)
Maker notes
Temperature setting range 35–70 °C (SUNLU wiki). Max working power 48 W (SUNLU product page and wiki). SUNLU describes dual upper and lower heating plates with a bottom fan ('360° Enclosed Heating') and a real-time humidity readout. Filament diameters 1.75 / 2.85 / 3.00 mm (SUNLU store page); SUNLU wiki lists 1.75 / 2.85 / 3.01 mm. SUNLU dimensions are 265(L) × 274(W) × 118(H) mm; recorded here as width = L, depth = W. SUNLU pages give different screen sizes (4.6-inch on sunlu.com, other figures on the store page), so screen size is not recorded. Timer range is not stated on SUNLU's product pages.
Strengths
  • Manufacturer states a 35–70 °C setting range with heating plates above and below the spool and a bottom fan.
  • Manufacturer states filament can keep drying while it feeds to the printer.
  • Manufacturer lists a low 48 W maximum working power.
Limitations
  • Holds a single spool, and SUNLU lists a maximum spool size of 210 mm diameter × 85 mm width, so wide or 2–3 kg spools will not fit.
  • 70 °C maximum is below the drying temperature some engineering filaments call for; check the filament maker's drying guidance.
View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab)Details checked 2026-10-06 against the manufacturer. Price and availability are on Amazon.

Verdict: which should you buy?

Choose the eSUN eBOX Lite if…

  • Your filament is already dry and you want to keep one 0.5 kg or 1 kg spool warm and covered while it prints.
  • You want a transparent lid so you can see how much filament is left.
  • You print materials that don't need high-temperature drying, and you don't need a published temperature or power figure.

Choose the SUNLU FilaDryer S2 if…

  • You want to set an exact drying temperature between 35 and 70 °C and see humidity on the screen.
  • You want to dry a spool and feed the printer from it while it heats.
  • You want a published maximum spool size, φ210 × 85 mm, to check your spools against.

Safety and limits

How this page was checked

Every specification, temperature, and drying figure above comes from the manufacturer documents in the sources section, retrieved on 2026-10-09. We haven't tested either box for this page, so nothing here is a measured result of ours. eSUN's product page is the only eSUN document we used. We found no eBOX Lite user guide on eSUN's site, and we haven't used third-party copies or retailer listings, so figures for the eBOX Lite's temperature, heater power, and maximum spool size that appear elsewhere aren't on this page. eSUN lists the size as 238 × 104 × 215 mm without saying which axis is which, so we've reported it as given. SUNLU's pages disagree with each other in places: its product page says the S2 suits PA and PC, while its blog says it isn't suited to high-temperature engineering filaments, so we've reported both. SUNLU's wiki lists a 3.01 mm filament diameter, which we've taken as the 3.00 mm its store page gives. Read more in our editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.

Dryers & dry boxes: what to check before you buy ↗

Sources

  1. eBOX Lite product page, eSUN
  2. FilaDryer S2 product page, SUNLU
  3. SUNLU S2 Filament Dryer (SUNLU store), SUNLU
  4. Filament Dryer wiki, SUNLU
  5. SUNLU Filament Dryer Comparison: S2 vs S4 vs E2, SUNLU
  6. Filament drying recommendations, Bambu Lab
  7. Drying filament, Prusa Research

This page is research-based: we have not tested the products or methods ourselves. It draws on the manufacturer documentation and sources listed. Exact settings and fit always defer to your printer and filament makers.