- Home
- Product shortlists
- Best Filament Storage (2026): Dry Boxes, Vacuum Bags and Hygrometers
Best Filament Storage (2026): Dry Boxes, Vacuum Bags and Hygrometers
The best filament storage by job: dry boxes you can print from, vacuum bags, desiccant, hygrometers and a shelf, with maker specs. None dries wet filament.
On this page (15 sections)
- Quick picks
- Who this guide is for
- How we chose these eight
- Dry box: Polymaker PolyDryer Box
- Dry box: Polymaker PolyDryer Box 4-pack
- Vacuum bags: SainSmart eVacuum filament storage kit (10 bags, hand pump)
- Desiccant: Dry & Dry orange indicating silica gel (2 lb)
- Desiccant: Dry & Dry 5 g orange indicating packets (50)
- Hygrometer: TempPro TP49 (black, 1-pack)
- Hygrometer: Govee H5075 (Bluetooth, 1-pack)
- Shelving, not sealed storage: Creality Filament Storage Box (10 kg)
- What should you check before buying filament storage?
- When don't you need to buy storage gear?
- Safety
- How this page was checked
For a 1 kg spool you print from often, start with the Polymaker PolyDryer Box: the printer pulls filament through an airlock without the box being opened, and the 4-pack suits several spools. For opened spools you aren't printing right now, SainSmart's vacuum-bag kit seals one spool per bag with desiccant and a humidity card. To refill desiccant, Dry & Dry sells loose orange indicating beads and ready-made 5 g packets. To see the humidity inside a box or bin, the TempPro TP49 gives a glance reading and the Govee H5075 adds phone alerts. The Creality 10 kg cabinet is shelving that keeps dust and light off ten spools; it is not a sealed dry box. The fit rule: storage keeps dry filament dry, but it does not dry filament that is already wet. If a spool already pops, strings, or prints rough because of moisture, dry it first and then store it.
Quick picks
| Need | Pick | Why |
|---|---|---|
| 1 spool you print from | Polymaker PolyDryer Box | Feeds the printer through an airlock without opening the box; hygrometer and desiccant included |
| Several opened spools | Polymaker PolyDryer Box 4-pack | Four of the same boxes, and Polymaker says any number can share one Dry Dock later |
| Spools you aren't printing now | SainSmart eVacuum storage kit | Ten one-spool bags with a hand pump, desiccant packs and humidity cards |
| Refilling desiccant | Dry & Dry orange indicating beads (2 lb) | Cobalt-free beads that turn dark green when saturated and can be reactivated |
| Humidity alerts on your phone | Govee H5075 | The Govee Home app alerts you when readings leave a range you set |
Picks are matched to documented needs, not scored.
Who this guide is for
This page is for readers whose spools print well today and who want to keep them that way, or who have just dried a spool and need somewhere sealed to put it. If you aren't sure whether you need storage, a dryer, or both, read our filament dryer vs dry box guide first. For the background on containers, desiccant, and humidity, see our filament storage guide.
The eight products fall into five types:
- Dry boxes you can print from: Polymaker PolyDryer Box, PolyDryer Box 4-pack.
- Vacuum bags: SainSmart eVacuum storage kit (10 bags, hand pump).
- Desiccant: Dry & Dry orange indicating silica gel beads (2 lb), Dry & Dry 5 g orange indicating packets (50).
- Hygrometers: TempPro TP49, Govee H5075.
- Shelving, not sealed storage: Creality Filament Storage Box (10 kg).
| Product | Best for | Skip if | Link |
|---|---|---|---|
| Polymaker PolyDryer Box (Single storage box, no Dry Dock (PX01003)) | Keeping a dried 1 kg spool sealed and feeding it straight to the printer. | Your spools are wider than 78 mm or larger than 1 kg. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| Polymaker PolyDryer Box (4-pack of storage boxes, no Dry Dock (PX01007)) | Storing several opened 1 kg spools sealed and ready to print. | You only need to store one spool, or your spools are wider than 78 mm. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| SainSmart eVacuum Sealed Bags Filament Storage Kit (1-spool size: 10 bags (15.75 × 11.81 in), hand pump, 15 desiccants, 15 humidity cards (SKU 101-91F-400)) | Sealing up to 10 single spools with a visible humidity card in each bag. | You want an electric pump or need bags for 2–3 kg spools. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| Dry & Dry Premium Orange Indicating Silica Gel Desiccant Beads (1 quart, 2 lb net, 3–5 mm beads) | Refilling desiccant in dry boxes, bins, or vacuum bags. | You want pre-filled packets or a sealed container rather than loose beads. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| Dry & Dry 5 Gram Aiwa Orange Indicating Silica Gel Packets (50 packets × 5 g) | Dropping small pre-filled packets into vacuum bags, dry boxes or AMS-style units. | You prefer loose beads to refill a desiccant container. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| TempPro TempAir CORE TP49 Indoor Thermometer & Hygrometer (Black, 1-pack (TP49B-1)) | Checking humidity inside a clear dry box or storage bin at a glance. | You want app alerts or logged humidity history. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| Govee Bluetooth Hygrometer Thermometer H5075 (1-pack) | Logging humidity inside a larger storage bin or cabinet with phone alerts. | You only need a glance reading and don't want an app. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
| Creality Filament Storage Box (10 kg two-tier storage cabinet, unheated (SKU 4005010089)) | Organizing up to 10 kg of spools out of dust near the printer. | You need airtight storage for nylon, PETG, TPU or other moisture-sensitive filament. | View on Amazon (opens Amazon in a new tab) |
How we chose these eight
A product made the list only if it met these criteria:
- Manufacturer documentation for capacity, contents, or accuracy. Each maker publishes what the product holds or includes, and the hygrometer makers publish their humidity accuracy. Where an Amazon listing gives extra figures the maker doesn't, we left them out.
- An exact variant we could verify. Each catalog record ties one Amazon listing to one manufacturer product and variant. Where the listing's model number doesn't match the maker's SKU exactly, we say so in that product's section.
- Documented size or fit. Box and bag sizes come from the maker, so you can measure your spools against them. Where a maker doesn't publish a dimension, we say so.
A dry box, a bag, desiccant, a hygrometer, and a shelf do different jobs, so compare products within each type.
Dry box: Polymaker PolyDryer Box
The single PolyDryer Box suits one 1 kg spool you print from regularly. Polymaker's manual lists a hygrometer, 30 g of colour-changing silica gel (orange when dry, dark green when wet), a spool roller, a 50 cm PTFE tube and two airlocks, and has you feed the filament through the box's outlet plug, so the printer can pull filament without the box being opened. The fit limit is strict: Polymaker gives a maximum of Φ205 mm × 78 mm including the spool, so wider spools won't go in. It doesn't heat. The Dry Dock that turns it into a dryer is sold separately.
Polymaker PolyDryer Box (Single storage box, no Dry Dock (PX01003))
- Best for
- Keeping a dried 1 kg spool sealed and feeding it straight to the printer.
- Skip this if
- Your spools are wider than 78 mm or larger than 1 kg.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- One spool up to 1 kg; maximum 205 mm diameter × 78 mm (filament with spool), per the PolyDryer user manual
- Outer size
- 235 × 120 × 235 mm
- Maker notes
- Polymaker SKU PX01003 = PolyDryer Box (Only Storage Box); matches the Amazon model number. Manual packing list for the Box: PolyDryer Box, spool roller, 50 cm PTFE tube, hygrometer & desiccant box, 30 g colour-changing silica gel desiccant, 2 airlocks. The Dry Dock and power adapter are not included. Manual: Box product size 235(L) × 120(W) × 235(H) mm; maximum capacity 205 mm diameter × 78 mm (filament with spool). Desiccant turns from orange (dry) to dark green (wet). The manual says to regenerate it on the Dry Dock at power level 3 for about 8 hours (no filament in the box), in an oven at 100–120 °C for 1–2 hours, or in a microwave on low power for 30 seconds, flip, then another 30 seconds. Manual: 'DO NOT place loose desiccant at the bottom of the PolyDryer™ Box.' The hygrometer uses a 1.5 V LR44 battery; the Polymaker FAQ says its minimum readout is 10%. Filament diameters 1.75 / 2.85 / 3.00 mm. Manual: 'Feed the filament through the outlet plug'; Polymaker's image says 'Ready to print without ever opening the box.'
- Manual has you feed the filament through the box's outlet plug and refit the airlocks tightly after drying, so you can print from the sealed box.
- Manual lists a built-in hygrometer and 30 g of colour-changing silica gel desiccant.
- Manufacturer states the box docks onto the separately sold PolyDryer Dry Dock for active drying.
- Polymaker's manual lists a maximum spool size of 205 mm diameter × 78 mm, so wider spools will not fit.
- Storage only: it does not heat. Drying needs the separately sold Dry Dock.
Skip it if your spools are wider than 78 mm or heavier than 1 kg.
Dry box: Polymaker PolyDryer Box 4-pack
The 4-pack is four of the same standard boxes, for readers who keep several opened spools ready to print. Each box has the same Φ205 × 78 mm limit, contents, and airlocks as the single box, according to Polymaker's manual. Polymaker says any number of boxes can share one Dry Dock, so you can add drying later. One caveat on the listing: Polymaker sells this as SKU PX01007, but the Amazon listing shows no model number, so we matched it by title and brand only.
Polymaker PolyDryer Box (4-pack of storage boxes, no Dry Dock (PX01007))
- Best for
- Storing several opened 1 kg spools sealed and ready to print.
- Skip this if
- You only need to store one spool, or your spools are wider than 78 mm.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- Four boxes, each holding one spool up to 1 kg; maximum 205 mm diameter × 78 mm per box (PolyDryer user manual)
- Outer size
- 235 × 120 × 235 mm
- Maker notes
- Polymaker lists 'PolyDryer™ Box 4 Pack (Only Storage Boxes)' as SKU PX01007. The Amazon listing gives no model number, but its title and brand match. dimensionsMm is for one box, per the manual. Manual packing list for the Box: PolyDryer Box, spool roller, 50 cm PTFE tube, hygrometer & desiccant box, 30 g colour-changing silica gel desiccant, 2 airlocks. The Dry Dock and power adapter are not included. Manual: Box product size 235(L) × 120(W) × 235(H) mm; maximum capacity 205 mm diameter × 78 mm (filament with spool). Desiccant turns from orange (dry) to dark green (wet). The manual says to regenerate it on the Dry Dock at power level 3 for about 8 hours (no filament in the box), in an oven at 100–120 °C for 1–2 hours, or in a microwave on low power for 30 seconds, flip, then another 30 seconds. Manual: 'DO NOT place loose desiccant at the bottom of the PolyDryer™ Box.' The hygrometer uses a 1.5 V LR44 battery; the Polymaker FAQ says its minimum readout is 10%. Filament diameters 1.75 / 2.85 / 3.00 mm. Manual: 'Feed the filament through the outlet plug'.
- Manual has you feed the filament through each box's outlet plug and refit the airlocks tightly after drying, so each box stays sealed while printing.
- Manual lists a hygrometer and 30 g of colour-changing desiccant per box.
- Manufacturer states any number of boxes can share one separately sold Dry Dock.
- Each box takes spools up to 205 mm diameter × 78 mm (manual), so wider spools will not fit.
- Storage only: no heating without the separately sold Dry Dock.
Skip it if you only need to store one spool, or your spools are wider than 78 mm.
Vacuum bags: SainSmart eVacuum filament storage kit (10 bags, hand pump)
Vacuum bags suit spools you've finished with for now and want sealed flat on a shelf rather than ready to print. SainSmart's package list is a hand pump, 10 bags, 2 sealing clips, 15 desiccant packs, and 15 humidity indicator cards. This is the 15.75 × 11.81 in "1 spool" size (SainSmart SKU 101-91F-400), one spool per bag; SainSmart's larger 2-spool bag is a different listing. SainSmart describes a double-seal zipper and a self-sealing valve. Its cobalt-free cards read 10%–60%, and SainSmart recommends changing the desiccant once humidity rises above 50%, but it gives no way to regenerate the included packs. Its own FAQ says manual pumping is slow and suggests squeezing out some air first. You can't print from a sealed bag.
SainSmart eVacuum Sealed Bags Filament Storage Kit (1-spool size: 10 bags (15.75 × 11.81 in), hand pump, 15 desiccants, 15 humidity cards (SKU 101-91F-400))
- Best for
- Sealing up to 10 single spools with a visible humidity card in each bag.
- Skip this if
- You want an electric pump or need bags for 2–3 kg spools.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- 10 bags, 15.75 × 11.81 in, one spool per bag (SainSmart '1 spool' variant)
- Maker notes
- SainSmart lists the '15.75"×11.81" (1 spool)' variant as SKU 101-91F-400; the Amazon model number is 400256525. Title, brand and contents match. SainSmart package list: hand pump × 1, vacuum bag × 10, sealing clip × 2, desiccant × 15, humidity indicator card × 15. SainSmart: micro-porous vacuum bags, reinforced double-seal zipper, self-sealing heavy-duty valve. SainSmart: cobalt-free humidity indicator cards with a 10%–60% range; spots change from brown to light blue as humidity rises. If humidity rises above 50%, SainSmart recommends changing the desiccants. SainSmart: the humidity indicator cards can be reused after drying with an oven or hair dryer. No regeneration method is given for the desiccant packs. SainSmart FAQ: manual pumping is slow; squeeze out some air before pumping. SainSmart also sells a larger 15.75 × 15.75 in (2-spool) variant (SKU 101-91F-VS4040), which is not this listing. SainSmart's line 'It can be adapted to 0.5KG/0.75KG/1KG package of 1.75mm/2.85mm/3mm filaments' follows both bag sizes and does not say which weights fit which size.
- Manufacturer package list includes 15 humidity indicator cards so you can check humidity without opening the bag.
- Manufacturer states the bags use a double-seal zipper and a self-sealing heavy-duty valve.
- Manufacturer states the indicator cards are cobalt-free and reusable after drying.
- Storage only: the bags do not dry filament that is already wet.
- Kit includes a hand pump only; SainSmart's own FAQ says manual pumping is slow.
- SainSmart gives no regeneration method for the desiccant packs, only advice to change them above 50% humidity.
Skip it if you want an electric pump, need bags for 2–3 kg spools, or want to print without unpacking the spool.
Desiccant: Dry & Dry orange indicating silica gel (2 lb)
Desiccant is what actually holds humidity down inside a box or bag, and it needs refreshing. Dry & Dry sells 2 lb (1 quart) of 3–5 mm orange beads that, it says, turn dark green when saturated, contain no cobalt chloride, and can be reactivated. Dry & Dry lists 3D filament among the uses. They are loose beads, not packets, so you need a breathable pouch or a container. Polymaker's manual specifically says not to put loose desiccant at the bottom of a PolyDryer Box, so keep refills in its desiccant compartment.
Dry & Dry Premium Orange Indicating Silica Gel Desiccant Beads (1 quart, 2 lb net, 3–5 mm beads)
- Best for
- Refilling desiccant in dry boxes, bins, or vacuum bags.
- Skip this if
- You want pre-filled packets or a sealed container rather than loose beads.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- 1 quart volume, 2.0 lb net weight of 3–5 mm beads (Dry & Dry)
- Maker notes
- Dry & Dry: 100% orange beads that turn dark green when they absorb moisture and are saturated; no cobalt chloride. Dry & Dry: reactivate in an oven for 0.5–2 hours at 200–250 °F, or in a microwave for about 10 minutes on DEFROST; 'Don't use over 250F in the Oven.' Dry & Dry lists 3D filament among the uses and marks the product 'NOT FOR FOOD'. Loose beads: they need a container or breathable pouch inside the storage box. The Amazon listing says beads change colour at 50–60% absorption; the manufacturer page says only that they turn dark green when saturated.
- Manufacturer states the beads change from orange to dark green as they absorb moisture.
- Manufacturer states the beads can be reactivated in an oven or microwave.
- Manufacturer states the beads contain no cobalt chloride.
- Loose beads, not packets: you need your own container or pouch.
- Manufacturer warns not to exceed 250 °F in the oven when reactivating, and marks the product not for food.
Skip it if you want ready-made packets rather than loose beads.
Desiccant: Dry & Dry 5 g orange indicating packets (50)
The packets suit readers who'd rather drop a ready-made sachet into a bag, bin, or dry box than fill pouches with loose beads. This is Dry & Dry's 50-packet variant ("5g 50 aiwa"; the Amazon model number is DD5G50-AIWA). Dry & Dry describes the contents as mostly white silica gel beads with a few orange indicating beads, orange when dry and dark green when saturated, with no cobalt chloride, shipped in a resealable bag. Because only a few beads change colour, the indicator is easier to miss than with all-orange beads. Recharging differs from the loose beads: Dry & Dry says the packets are rechargeable in an oven only, never a microwave, at 150–200 °F for 0.5–1.5 hours. The Amazon listing gives a packet size and a coverage figure that Dry & Dry's own page doesn't state, so we leave them out.
Dry & Dry 5 Gram Aiwa Orange Indicating Silica Gel Packets (50 packets × 5 g)
- Best for
- Dropping small pre-filled packets into vacuum bags, dry boxes or AMS-style units.
- Skip this if
- You prefer loose beads to refill a desiccant container.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- 50 packets of 5 g silica gel (Dry & Dry '5g 50 aiwa' variant)
- Maker notes
- Dry & Dry store variant '50 Packet' is SKU '5g 50 aiwa'; the Amazon model number is DD5G50-AIWA. Dry & Dry: a mixture of white silica gel beads with a few orange indicating beads; orange means dry, dark green means saturated; no cobalt chloride. Dry & Dry: 'Packets are rechargeable via oven only (do not use microwave); Bake the packets at 150 to 200 F for 0.5 to 1.5 hours.' Dry & Dry: packets ship in a resealable self-standing bag. The Amazon listing gives a 1.75 × 2.5 in packet size and coverage of about 600 cubic inches per packet; Dry & Dry's own page does not state either figure, so they are not recorded as specifications.
- Manufacturer states the orange beads turn dark green when the packet is saturated.
- Manufacturer states the packets can be recharged in an oven at 150–200 °F for 0.5–1.5 hours.
- Manufacturer states the silica gel contains no cobalt chloride.
- Desiccant only slows moisture uptake in a sealed container; it does not dry wet filament.
- Manufacturer says recharge in an oven only, never a microwave, and only a few beads in each packet change colour.
Skip it if you prefer loose beads for refilling a desiccant compartment, or you have no oven for recharging.
Hygrometer: TempPro TP49 (black, 1-pack)
The TP49 suits a clear dry box or bin where you want a glance reading without an app. TempPro states a humidity range of 10%–99%, with ±2% RH accuracy between 30% and 80% RH and ±3% outside that band, so a very dry box sits in its less-accurate range. TempPro says it refreshes every 10 seconds, runs on one AAA battery, and can stand, hang, or attach magnetically. TempPro gives its size as 55.5 × 66.0 × 15.0 mm, so check it fits beside your spool. The variant is TempPro's black 1-pack (SKU TP49B-1); the Amazon model number reads "TempAir CORE TP-49-B", and TempPro notes orders may arrive in packaging with the previous brand name.
TempPro TempAir CORE TP49 Indoor Thermometer & Hygrometer (Black, 1-pack (TP49B-1))
- Best for
- Checking humidity inside a clear dry box or storage bin at a glance.
- Skip this if
- You want app alerts or logged humidity history.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- One digital temperature and humidity monitor
- Maker notes
- TempPro store variant 'Black / 1-Pack' is SKU TP49B-1; the Amazon model number is 'TempAir CORE TP-49-B'. TempPro's page notes orders may arrive in packaging with the previous brand name (the buythermopro.com domain serves the same TempPro store; Amazon lists the brand as TempPro). TempPro: humidity range 10%–99%; accuracy ±2% RH from 30–80% RH, otherwise ±3%. TempPro: temperature range -50 to 70 °C (-58 to 158 °F); accuracy ±0.5 °C from 32–140 °F, otherwise ±1 °C. TempPro: refreshes every 10 seconds; powered by 1 × 1.5 V AAA battery. TempPro: size 55.5 (L) × 66.0 (W) × 15.0 (H) mm; tabletop stand, magnetic back or hanging mount. Not a filament-specific product: TempPro markets it for rooms and greenhouses. Check that it fits inside your box. Warranty: TempPro's manual gives a limited one-year warranty from date of purchase; TempPro's product page offers an extended three-year limited warranty after registering on TempPro.com.
- Manufacturer states humidity accuracy of ±2% RH between 30% and 80% RH.
- Manufacturer states readings refresh every 10 seconds.
- Manufacturer states it can stand, hang, or attach magnetically.
- It only measures humidity; it does not dry filament or the air.
- The display has to be visible through the container wall, or you have to open the box to read it.
- Below 10% RH it is outside the manufacturer's stated humidity range.
Skip it if your container is opaque and you don't want to open it to read the display, or you want app alerts or logged history.
Hygrometer: Govee H5075 (Bluetooth, 1-pack)
The H5075 suits a larger bin or cabinet you want to watch from your phone. Govee states humidity accuracy of ±3% RH and says the Govee Home app sends an alert when readings leave a range you set, keeps 20 days of records, and exports them as CSV. It's Bluetooth only, with no Wi-Fi, so alerts need your phone within range. Govee says two AAA batteries last about 6 months. Govee's page doesn't state the outer dimensions, so measure your container against the unit before relying on it fitting.
Govee Bluetooth Hygrometer Thermometer H5075 (1-pack)
- Best for
- Logging humidity inside a larger storage bin or cabinet with phone alerts.
- Skip this if
- You only need a glance reading and don't want an app.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- One Bluetooth temperature and humidity monitor
- Maker notes
- Govee model H5075; matches the Amazon model number. Govee: humidity accuracy ±3% RH; temperature accuracy ±0.32 °C; responds in 2 seconds. Govee: powered by two AAA batteries, lasting about 6 months. Govee: Bluetooth only, does not support Wi-Fi; data viewed in the Govee Home app, with 20 days of temperature and humidity records and CSV export from the app. Govee: stand and hanging hole for placement. Not a filament-specific product. Outer dimensions are not stated on Govee's page; the Amazon listing gives 3.11 × 2.56 × 0.75 in. Govee gives three Bluetooth range figures: up to 60 m/196 ft (description), 50 m/164 ft in open, unobstructed space (FAQ), and 260 ft (product images).
- Manufacturer states humidity accuracy of ±3% RH.
- Manufacturer states the app sends alerts when readings leave a preset range and can export data as CSV.
- Manufacturer states battery life of about 6 months on two AAA batteries.
- It only measures humidity; it does not dry filament.
- Bluetooth only (no Wi-Fi), so remote alerts need your phone within Bluetooth range.
- Govee doesn't publish a thickness; its product images show a 2.5 × 3.1 in front, so check it fits inside your box.
Skip it if you only need a glance reading and don't want an app, or you want remote alerts away from home.
Shelving, not sealed storage: Creality Filament Storage Box (10 kg)
This is a fabric-covered two-tier rack for keeping up to 10 kg of spools organized and out of dust near the printer. Creality rates the rack for 10 kg and describes Oxford-cloth cover layers, clear windows, and a magnetic door closure. Creality's page also lists "Moisture-Proof and Damp-Proof" among its features, but it lists no gasket seal, no desiccant, and no hygrometer, and a magnetic fabric door is not an airtight closure. Treat it as shelving: put moisture-sensitive spools in sealed bags or boxes with desiccant first, then shelve those. Creality doesn't publish outer dimensions on its page. This is the unheated version (SKU 4005010089); Creality's heated 10 kg box is a different product.
Creality Filament Storage Box (10 kg two-tier storage cabinet, unheated (SKU 4005010089))
- Best for
- Organizing up to 10 kg of spools out of dust near the printer.
- Skip this if
- You need airtight storage for nylon, PETG, TPU or other moisture-sensitive filament.
Specs, strengths, and limitations
- Capacity
- 10 kg on a two-tier rack (Creality image text); Creality's images show five spools per tier
- Maker notes
- Creality store SKU 4005010089. The Amazon model number (AMUS-CU-3D-AC-Storage Box-New) does not contain the SKU; brand, title and 10 kg capacity match. Creality image text: two-tier rack, 'Strong Load-Bearing without Deformation' with '10KG'; an 'Easy Installation' image shows the rack in parts. Creality image text: cover layers are Oxford cloth / support plate / Oxford cloth; 'Magnetic Closure for Easy Access'; 'Transparent and Visible' windows. Creality markets it for filament and UV-sensitive resin storage. Creality's page lists no desiccant, hygrometer, gasket seal, or outer dimensions. The Amazon listing says the rack is aluminium alloy; Creality's page does not state the rack material. Not the heated version: Amazon also lists a Creality 10 kg box with a 70 °C heating module (B0GYC85LFS), which is a different product.
- Manufacturer states the two-tier rack holds 10 kg of filament.
- Manufacturer states the door uses a magnetic closure and the cover has clear windows.
- Manufacturer states the cover is a three-layer Oxford cloth and support-plate construction.
- It is a fabric cabinet with a magnetic door, not a gasket-sealed box; Creality lists no desiccant or hygrometer, so it is better for dust and light than for keeping filament dry.
- Storage only: it does not heat and will not dry wet filament.
- Creality does not publish outer dimensions on its product page.
Skip it if you need airtight storage for nylon, PETG, TPU, or other moisture-sensitive filament without bagging it first.
What should you check before buying filament storage?
- Measure your spools. The PolyDryer Box takes spools up to Φ205 × 78 mm, which covers typical 1 kg spools but not larger formats. SainSmart's bags in this kit are 15.75 × 11.81 in, one spool each. Unknown fit is not fit.
- Filament diameter. Polymaker lists 1.75, 2.85, and 3.00 mm for its boxes.
- Printing from storage. Only the PolyDryer boxes are designed to feed a printer while sealed. Vacuum bags and the Creality cabinet are for storage between prints. Check that any extra tube length and bends suit your extruder, especially with flexible filament. We have no verified printer-fit records for these products, so we don't list any as fitting a particular printer or material system.
- Sealed or not. The PolyDryer boxes and SainSmart bags are designed to seal. The Creality cabinet has a magnetic fabric door and no gasket, desiccant, or hygrometer listed by Creality.
- Future drying. The PolyDryer boxes need the separately sold Dry Dock to heat. Nothing else here heats.
- Hygrometer fit and range. TempPro gives the TP49 as 55.5 × 66.0 × 15.0 mm; Govee doesn't publish the H5075's dimensions. The TP49 reads down to 10% RH, and Polymaker notes its box hygrometer reads down to 10% too. Both of the standalone units read the air in the container, not the filament.
- Desiccant recharging. Check what you can recharge and how. Dry & Dry's loose beads and its packets have different instructions, and SainSmart gives no regeneration method for its packs.
When don't you need to buy storage gear?
- The spool is already wet. Storage won't fix it. Dry it first, as explained in our dryer vs dry box guide, or browse our filament dryer shortlist and the dryers hub.
- You mainly print PLA and finish spools within a few weeks. A sealed bag or bin with the desiccant that came in the packaging is often enough. Our filament storage guide explains the options.
- You already have a clear sealed bin. Adding desiccant and a hygrometer may be all you need rather than a dedicated dry box.
- You're chasing stringing. Moisture is one cause among several. Start with stringing troubleshooting, or PLA printing problems and PETG printing problems, before buying storage.
- You want the broader picture. The storage hub covers containers and humidity in general.
Safety
- Reactivating desiccant uses heat, and the instructions differ by product. Dry & Dry gives an oven at 200–250 °F for 0.5–2 hours, or a microwave on DEFROST for about 10 minutes, for its loose beads, and says "Don't use over 250F in the Oven." For its 5 g packets, Dry & Dry says oven only, never a microwave, at 150–200 °F for 0.5–1.5 hours. Polymaker's manual gives power level 3 on the Dry Dock for about 8 hours, or an oven at 100–120 °C for 1–2 hours, for its own desiccant. SainSmart gives no method for its desiccant packs, only for drying its humidity cards with an oven or hair dryer. These instructions are for desiccant only. Never use a kitchen oven or microwave to dry filament.
- Desiccant isn't food. Dry & Dry marks its loose beads "NOT FOR FOOD." Keep beads and packets in a closed container, away from food, children, and pets.
- Hygrometer batteries. Polymaker's box hygrometer uses an LR44 button cell; the TP49 uses one AAA and the H5075 two AAA batteries. Store spares safely, and keep button cells away from children.
How this page was checked
This is a research-based shortlist. We have not used these products for this page, so there are no humidity measurements, seal tests, or "we found" claims here. Every capacity, size, content list, accuracy figure, and temperature above comes from the manufacturer documents listed in the sources section, retrieved on 2026-10-06 and 2026-10-07. Makers revise products and pages, so check the current page or manual for your exact product before relying on a number. Read more about our process in our editorial standards and affiliate disclosure.
Filament storage: what to check before you buy ↗Head-to-head comparisons
Deciding between two products on this page? Each comparison puts both makers’ specs side by side and says who should choose which.
Sources
- PolyDryer product page, Polymaker
- PolyDryer User Manual, Polymaker
- PolyDryer (Polymaker wiki), Polymaker
- eVacuum Sealed Bags Filament Storage Kit, SainSmart
- 1 Quart (2 LBS) Premium Orange Indicating Silica Gel Desiccant Bead, Dry & Dry
- 5 Gram Aiwa Orange Indicating Packets, Dry & Dry
- TempAir CORE TP49 Indoor Thermometer & Hygrometer, TempPro
- Bluetooth Hygrometer Thermometer H5075, Govee
- Creality Filament Storage Box, Creality
This page is research-based: we have not tested the products or methods ourselves. It draws on the manufacturer documentation and sources listed. Exact settings and fit always defer to your printer and filament makers.
Keep reading

Filament storage: sealed containers, desiccant, and moisture exposure
How to keep opened spools dry with sealed containers, the right desiccant and a hygrometer, and why storage cannot fix filament that is already wet.

Filament dryer vs dry box: drying and storage explained
A dry box keeps dry filament dry; a dryer removes moisture that is already in it. How to tell which problem you have, and what to do safely.

Stringing troubleshooting: moisture, temperature, and motion settings
How to diagnose stringing and oozing one change at a time: check filament moisture, nozzle temperature, retraction, and travel settings before buying parts.















